CFIS 2022

Time Title Speaker
8:30 Welcome Reception
Session 1: Fire Safety of Ro-Ro ships Moderation Franz Evegren, RISE
9:00 Keynote: Welcome from the host and setting the scene Leendert Bal,
EMSA Head of Department
9:15 Car deck fires - an investigation report David Myers, TMC Marine
9:35 The sinking of the X-Press Pearl: an investigation report Capt. Manjula Piyathilaka, Sri Lanka Navy
9:55 Technical basis for future revisions of regulations - What is going on in LASH FIRE? Eric de Carvalho, Bureau Veritas
10:15 IMO review of SOLAS fire regultations for ro-pax Therese Christensen, Danish Maritime Administration
10:35 Coffee Break
11:00 CCTV and other modes of early hotspot detection Davood Zeinali, RISE Fire Research Norway
11:20 How to control fire risks related to ro-ro space openings Tuula Hakkarainen, VTT
11:40 Performance of fixed fire fighting systems on vehicle carriers Urban Lishajko, Wallenius Marine
12:00 Beyond the horizon, what hazards and safety measures may come in future? Stefan Vis & Gert Jan Langerak , RelyOn Nutec
12:20 Lunch
Session 2: Alternatively Fuelled Vehicle (AFV) fires in maritime Moderation Franz Evegren, RISE
13:20 EMSA guidance on the safe carriage of AFVs in ro-ro spaces Santiago Encabo,
Senior Project Officer for Ship Safety and Marine Equipment. EMSEA
13:40 Effective and efficient manual firefighting for AFVs Jaime Bleye, Sasemar
14:00 AFV fires - Busting the myths by stating the facts Jonna Hynynen, RISE
14:20 Safe connections of reefer units and charging of electric cars Vasudev Ramachandra, RISE
14:40 Coffee Break
15:10 Suppression, Containment, and Extinguishing of Battery Car Fires Onboard Ships Alex Kleiman, DBI
15:30 Future risks and insurers' concerns Collin Gillespie, The International Group of P&I Clubs
15:50 Safe transport of AVF's from an operators perspective Jens Meinhard Rasmussen, SmyrilLine
16:10 Coffee Break
16:20 Panel Discussion: r-AFV-olution! Risks, opportunities, and future implications for safe carriage Therese Christensen, Danish Maritime Administration
Martti Simojoki, Alandia
Jens Meinhard Rasmussen, SmyrilLine
Martin Carlsson, Stena Line
17:00 Closure Cocktail